FTC: Trader Joe’s Chocolate Croissants

Finding quality croissants in America is hard. I had pretty much given up my search, but I’m proud to say I’ve found a worthy DIY alternative the Trader Joes’ frozen chocolate croissants. They cost $4.99 for one box, which had four croissants. They are frozen – but require some prep. They have to be left out overnight (9 hours according to the box) to rise, and should be finished with an egg wash before baking. I was impressed when I checked on my little croissants in the morning to see they had quadrupled in size. I am not a baker, but I hear this is a normal “bread” thing…

After baking for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven, I was ready to sample the croissants, which had nicely browned. They were generously filled with dark chocolate, which was perfectly oozy and melty. They key to croissants, IMHO, is the flakiness, which I find missing from so many other varieties I have tried. These TJ croissants are awesomely flaky and buttery without being doughy. My one tiny qualm is the amount of fat in these puppies. Don’t look at the nutrition facts, they aren’t for the faint of heart. I meant to take pictures, but we ate the croissants so fast all that I would have gotten were crumbs and chocolate smudges.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finer Things Club

Leave a Reply

